Posted in My Stories

Chapter 2 (part 1)-Creatures of the Old

As we walk through the forest, the trees get taller and taller; their leaves thicker and thicker until it feels like i’m blind. I can’t hear Orion or Andromeda ahead of me, their footsteps neither making a sound or leaving a trail, unlike mine. Nevertheless, i know where they are going. They  have a presence that i can follow without being able to see. An owl hoots above us and i hear a howl of a wolf behind me.

I walk a little faster hoping that we can find shelter soon. No matter how brave i like to think i am, i don’t want to die or be eaten alive by a monster in the middle of a claustrophobic forest.

Ahead of me Orion and Andromeda glide to a stop and i stumble before halting behind them.

“What is i-? i ask before Orion clasps a hand around my mouth.

Make no movement, his voice echoes through my head even though i’m sure he didn’t talk. I stare at him confused but i follow his orders and try to keep myself from hyperventilating.

There is a movement in front of me and a  wolf appears out of the darkness. Her crimson fur shines from within, lighting up her golden eyes so they glow in the never-ending darkness. They are gentle and wise and they stare at me as if they are reading my secrets. Two large beacons pouring into my soul.

Around me, Orion and Andromeda stand back to back and i realise the things i didn’t see before. The large wolves that are slowly surrounding us. I want to run away but i can’t. I’m paralysed under their sheer glance.

Orion looks at the red wolf anger burning in his gaze.

“This is Greek territory,” he says. “Begone before we rip you simple-minded Romans into shreds.”

The red wolf growls.

“Son of Poseidon, you have passed the Forest of Artemis,” her voice is a low growl. “Now you obey to me.”

“We will never obey to you Lupa,” Andromeda’s voice is thick with hatred. “Even Romulus and Remus left you.”

The wolf, Lupa, howls with rage and strides towards us, her pack following. A bow appears out of nowhere in Orion’s hand and he reaches back to get an arrow from a quiver i didn’t know he possessed. Andromeda already has a knife out.

The demons’ eyes glow with fury as they leap towards us in a ghastly battle.

 

Back to Chapter 1

 

 

Leave a Reply

