Posted in Daily Prompts, My Stories

Punishment

I stared at my brother as he crumpled to the ground, blood pooling out around him. I couldn’t move. They had tied me up, making sure I was unable to move or speak. Even if they hadn’t done it, I don’t think I could have stopped my brother from getting whipped. I wasn’t strong enough.

They had punished me in a variety of ways. They knew I had given up, just like how I used to know when a prisoner had nothing left in them. They had tortured me beyond anything I’d ever imagined. I felt no pain anymore, only a dull throbbing. My body was broken and so was my heart. I had given up. And they knew that.

I guess that’s why they involved my family. This was my punishment. Any little piece of my heart that was left, was breaking even more. I didn’t think that was possible. At least when they used to hurt me, I knew everyone else was safe. I had done a good deed trying to save them, even though I’d gone against everything my group believed in. I had betrayed them so I guess it was fair that they betrayed me. Torturing me wasn’t enough. They knew the real reason I’d turned my back to them. So they were going to kill that reason.

You see, when they hurt me, I always remembered that something good had been done in the world. But now that were hurting the people I’d given up everything for, well, I guess everything I stand for falls doesn’t it. A ruin everyone forgets about.

I closed my eyes and let go. I let go of the small hope I had inside me. The small hope they had tried to extinguish but had never succeeded. Who would have thought? The leader of the biggest revolution gave up. The leader that gave her life for everyone else’s gave up. How hilarious.

-The leader of a revolution

Leave a Reply

